Online Casinos, Gambling, Poker and Sports Betting Magazine


Asian Poker champion crowned.

India’s first-ever professional poker tournament, the Asian Poker Classic (APC), sponsored by online casino site the came to riveting and historic end on March 4th 2007 when Carl Hostrup from Denmark (1st place), Samuel Lehtonen from Sweden (2nd place), and Pranav Bathija from India (3rd place) shared their portion of the $1,000,000 prize pool.

Hostrup commented, ‘This is my biggest tournament win, and I still cannot believe that I am the champion. Yesterday I told people that I would win, not to boast, but to give myself the positive attitude I needed to win. I came up with a strategy on how to play the final table, and combined with my positive attitude, played my way to first place.’

143 participants from more than 15 countries attended the tournament with the likes of Ross Boatman, Roy Brindley, Mark Goodwin, Issac Gulazan, Arshad Hussain, Mel Judah, John Kabbaj, Lee Nelson, Jani Sointula, Surinder Sunar, and Willie Tann. Goa's luxury five-star Intercontinental Grand Resort was the venue for this tournament, which attracted players and audience in their droves.

Director of Operations for the Asian Poker Classic, Imran Hassan had this to say, ‘Poker is a global sport with players from almost every country around the globe. Now India has taken its place as a viable poker destination. We are extremely proud of the success of this year's Asian Poker Classic and hope that it provides the platform for the future growth and development of the game in India.’

‘Of course we knew Indian poker players would come to the APC, but we wanted to ensure this tournament would be recognised throughout the global poker community. The final table alone included players from Denmark, Great Britain, India, Poland, Spain, Sweden and Vietnam,’ continued Hassan.

Stephen Holder.
Coming Soon...