Usain Bolt DQ raises false-start questions
Following Usain Bolt’s dramatic disqualification from the World Championship 100 metres final, one bookmaker is offering odds on a false-start rule change.
World record holder Bolt was kicked out of the showpiece race having moved before the starting gun sounded, leaving his Jamaican compatriot Yohan Blake to take the gold medal. The current ruling that sees a single false start equal automatic disqualification was introduced in 2010 but William Hill have opened a book on the stipulation changing in time for the London 2012 Olympics.
A price of 5/2 is on offer on an individual athlete being allowed two or more false starts before disqualification, while odds of 2/7 are available on the rules not being changed.
“There will be repercussions after such a high profile false start deprived fans all over the world of watching Bolt in a final and we wouldn’t be surprised if the false-start rules were amended before the London Olympics,” said William Hill spokesman Graham Sharpe.